FITNESS AND ANXIETY | finding ways to cope

As mentioned in an earlier post, I struggle with anxiety, particularly panic disorder.

I wanted to take a moment and share a particular way I deal with general, normal anxiety along with my panic disorder.

Fitness can be a scary word for a lot of people. Exercise, of the extraneous sort, is intimidating. We are constantly told that physical fitness is pertinent if we want to live a long, happy life.

This is true. However, sometimes we get so bogged down in the “body/weight changing” aspect, that we forget how important physical fitness is for our minds. In fact, mental wellness can be improved tremendously just with a little exercise.

According to the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, “Scientists have found that regular participation in aerobic exercise has been shown to decrease overall levels of tension, elevate and stabilize mood, improve sleep, and improve self-esteem. About five minutes of aerobic exercise can begin to stimulate anti-anxiety effects.”

When I started college, my anxiety issues grew exponentially. I began experiencing attacks more and more frequently. That’s when I decided to try exercise. I began making time to go to my school’s gym six days a week, often times with a friend for emotional support.

The more I exercised, the better I started to feel, emotionally and physically.

I understand that starting to exericise can be intimidating at first, so it’s okay to start at home to build your confidence.

One of my favorite youtubers is Cassey Ho, otherwise known as Blogilates. She has tons of fitness and nutritional videos as well as a blog with a free monthly workout calendar, telling you exactly what to do every day.

If you struggle with anxiety, I encourage you to start a fun exercise routine and see where it takes you!

Much love and coffee,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

